What is NEET?

NEET, National Entrance Examination Test, a test for which more than 1.5 million aspirants register annually. NEET is a single-annual national exam carried out for medical aspirants enabling them to pursue medical courses across different medical institutes of the country. One needs to qualify for the examination to get into a medical college and pursue medical studies.  NEET started in 2013, except in 2016, the students are taking this exam and pursuing their dream of becoming a doctor.  National Testing Agency conducts NEET in India and Abroad, as well for OCI’s and NRI’s. NTA is conducting NEET 2021 on September 12 in an offline mode amid COVID in 13 Languages, and this year it is scheduled on September 12, 2021. NTA, this year has divided the NEET Registration process into 2 Phases where Phase 1 is the submission of the online Application Form, which can be done till August 6, 2021.

This year NTA has changed the examination pattern giving students an internal choice with the questions and attempting only 180 questions out of 200.

Courses such as Bachelor of Medicine and a Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS), Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS), Bachelor in Unani Medicine and Surgery (BUMS), Bachelor of Ayurveda, Medicine and Surgery (BAMS), Bachelor of Homeopathic Medicine and Surgery (BHMS), Bachelor of Siddha Medicine and Surgery (BSMS), Bachelor of Naturopathy and Yoga Sciences (BNYS), etc. for enrolling in such courses one has to pass NEET.


A person who has passed or appearing for the class 12 exam is eligible can register for NEET. The minimum age required to hold the examination is 17 years. The candidate must have passed class 12 in Physics, Chemistry and Biology with a minimum of 50 per cent marks. There is no bar on the upper age limit for the exam and no limit on how many attempts one can give.

Students and Candidates who have Biology as an additional subject are also eligible to apply. Other than Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs, PIOs & Foreign Nationals are also eligible to apply for NEET 2021. NEET eligibility criteria should also be fulfilled during the time of admission process after clearing the exam. Qualifying Marks for National Entrance Examination Test are 50% marks for GE and 45% for GE-PH, 40% for SC/ST and OBCs.


NTA has announced the schedule for NEET-UG  2021is released, and it is scheduled for September 12, 2021; here are the rest of the details.

NEET 2021 Application Form Released July 13, 2021, 5:00 PM
Last date to fill NEET Application Form August 6, 2021
Last date of paying the fee August 7, 2021
NEET Form Correction Window Opens August 8 to 12, 2021
Announcement of the City of Examination August 20, 2021
Availability of NEET admit card 3 Days Before Exam, i.e., September 9, 2021 (Tentative)
NEET 2021 Exam Date September 12, 2021 



The National Testing Agency, NTA, released the application form of NEET on July 13, 2021. Aspirants can fill the NEET application form from August 6, 2021, at the official website (neet.nta.nic.in), and candidates can fill it from the official website. Once you’re eligible to register yourself for NEET, you must be aware of the documents required and the process to fill the form. The details mentioned below are required to be filled in by the candidates in the application form:

  1.       Personal details such as name, age, address, nationality, etc.
  2.       Latest photograph (size 10 kb -200 kb)
  3.       Signature with black pen (size 10 kb -200 kb)
  4.       Left hand thumb impression (size 10 kb – 200 kb)
  5.       Upload passing certificate of class 10th (size 50 kb – 300 kb)
  6.       Upload category certificate (if needed)
  7.       Payment of fees

This year, NTA has decided to divide the application form into 2 phases, and in both phases, candidates will be required to upload the documents as per the guidelines and directions are given by NTA.

Phase 1: Before Appearing for the Exam

Phase one will include candidates logging in and generating their NEET Registration No. and Password. Use your registration and password to log in to the official website and enter your personal and academic details, test centre as per your preference. Candidates should upload their passport size photograph, signature, and other documents according to the NTA guidelines. NEET application fees can be paid online via various modes like Debit/Credit Card, Net-Banking, UPI etc., i.e., INR 1500 for GN, INR 1400 for EWS, and INR 800 for other category candidates. The last step here is to save and submit the application form. 

Phase 2: Before Downloading the Result

Before you download the result, in the middle of the process, you have to fill in the personal details as asked in the form like; Education Details need to be filled, Parents Income Details and Uploading of Documents that are asked.

NTA will also open the correction window. During the opening of the correction window, candidates will be allowed to edit a few details only like, Mother’s and Father’s Name, Gender and Category, Person with Disability status, change the exam city preferences, and upload the new photograph & signature. 


The earlier exam pattern comprised 180 objective-type questions of 4 marks each. The new exam pattern, which has an internal choice in the question paper in NEET UG-2021, will include two sections, i.e., Section A and Section B.

Each subject will consist of 2 sections. Section A will consist of 35 questions, and section B will consist of 15 questions, out of which candidates can choose to attempt any ten questions. So, the total number of questions and time will remain the same. All the candidates will decide to do any ten questions of their choice from the given 15 questions in Section B. All the remaining questions, i.e., 35 questions given in section A, are compulsory to attempt. Therefore, students should  strictly pay attention to the fact that no choice will be provided in section A and they have to attempt it like as directed.



  1.       Section A: 35 questions for 140 marks
  2.       Section B: 15 questions for 40 marks


  1.       Section A: 35 questions for 140 marks
  2.       Section B: 15 questions for 40 marks


  1.       Section A: 35 questions for 140 marks
  2.       Section B: 15 questions for 40 marks


  1.       Section A: 35 questions for 140 marks
  2.       Section B: 15 questions for 40 marks

Total 200 questions out of which 180 are to be attempted for 720 marks


  1. For each correct answer, four marks will be given/ awarded.
  2. For each incorrect answer, one mark will be deducted.
  3. Unanswered or unattempted questions will lead to zero marks.

Leave a Reply